First post! An about me before we crank it up.

Well hello there fellas, welcome to RB2>GH5! As the name implies, this blog is about the Rock Band and Guitar Hero series, and my clear preference of one over another. And before we begin, let me get one thing perfectly clear: I do not work, nor do I know anyone who works ar Harmonix or Activision. This is a fan blog, and the opinions I will port here are my personal ones, period.
With that out of the way, let me introduce myself. I am a brazilian guy, 30 years old, and I have a full-time job. The reason why I’m saying this is so that you know I’m not a kid trying to waste anyone’s time with flaming or other random dumb shit. Also, I play music simulation games to have FUN, not to post videos on Youtube. So this blog is about having fun with the game.
Also, please pay attention to the “brazilian” detail. Yeah, english is not my native tongue. I’ll try my best to write correctly, but if you english-speaking folks out there spot any mistakes, feel free to correct me. Actually, feel free to correct me about anything at all. I don’t get offended by civil criticism.
So anyway, here’s my gaming bio. I’ve been playing guitar games ever since Konami launched the Guitar Freaks arcade series. Back then, the guitars only had 3 buttons and I’d pay most of my intern paycheck playing “The Endless Summer” and “Fire” at Gameworks. For a while, it seemed to me like I was the only person in the world who was interested in this kind of game. Even back then I was SUCH an enthusiast.
And then Guitar Hero came out.
Boy, Guitar Hero was a dream! Unfortunately, I didn’t have the money to own a videogame that could run GH1 and GH2, so those are two titles that I’ve never played. When GH3 came out, though, you could buy the PC version of the game, so I bought it and played ad nauseum.
And then I recall going to a friend’s house one day and playing Rock Band 2.
The moment I played Rock Band 2, I said to myself “this is it. I have to own this game”. And I am going to keep the story short so I don’t bore you, so after saving some money (now I have a decent job so it wasn’t that hard) I now have my full HD TV, my XBOX 360, 2 guitars, drums and mic.
Alright. And I have RB1, RB2, The Beatles: Rock Band and GH5.
I had the idea of starting this blog right after playing The Beatles: Rock Band and Guitar Hero 5. As I’m gonna explain in more detail later, GH5 was a big disappointment for me. Actually I think the game’s not THAT bad, but it does a really great job at highlighting all the GOOD stuff that the Rock Band series has that Activision just hasn’t discovered yet.
So basically this is a blog written by a big fan of music games, who would like to have more fun with such games, and who hopes someday someone from Harmonix (and hopefully Activision too!) will read what’s written here and make their games even more fun. Actually, since Harmonix is working on RB3 as we speak, I hope my ideas will be of some use for them.
Once I get some posts done, I’ll try publicizing this space in forums and maybe other blogs, so I’d like to welcome visitors willing to comment with criticism and ideas.
And now let’s get this show on the road!

Well hello there fellas, welcome to RB2>GH5! As the name implies, this blog is about the Rock Band and Guitar Hero series, and my clear preference of one over another. And before we begin, let me get one thing perfectly clear: I do not work, nor do I know anyone who works ar Harmonix or Activision. This is a fan blog, and the opinions I will port here are my personal ones, period.

With that out of the way, let me introduce myself. I am a brazilian guy, 30 years old, and I have a full-time job. The reason why I’m saying this is so that you know I’m not a kid trying to waste anyone’s time with flaming or other random dumb shit. Also, I play music simulation games to have FUN, not to post videos on Youtube. So this blog is about having fun with the game.

Also, please pay attention to the “brazilian” detail. Yeah, english is not my native tongue. I’ll try my best to write correctly, but if you english-speaking folks out there spot any mistakes, feel free to correct me. Actually, feel free to correct me about anything at all. I don’t get offended by civil criticism.

So anyway, here’s my gaming bio. I’ve been playing guitar games ever since Konami launched the Guitar Freaks arcade series. Back then, the guitars only had 3 buttons and I’d pay most of my intern paycheck playing “The Endless Summer” and “Fire” at Gameworks. For a while, it seemed to me like I was the only person in the world who was interested in this kind of game. Even back then I was SUCH an enthusiast.

And then Guitar Hero came out.

Boy, Guitar Hero was a dream! Unfortunately, I didn’t have the money to own a videogame that could run GH1 and GH2, so those are two titles that I’ve never played. When GH3 came out, though, you could buy the PC version of the game, so I bought it and played ad nauseum.

And then I recall going to a friend’s house one day and playing Rock Band 2.

The moment I played Rock Band 2, I said to myself “this is it. I have to own this game”. And I am going to keep the story short so I don’t bore you, so after saving some money (now I have a decent job so it wasn’t that hard) I now have my full HD TV, my XBOX 360, 2 guitars, drums and mic.

Alright. And I have RB1, RB2, The Beatles: Rock Band and GH5.

I had the idea of starting this blog right after playing The Beatles: Rock Band and Guitar Hero 5. As I’m gonna explain in more detail later, GH5 was a big disappointment for me. Actually I think the game’s not THAT bad, but it does a really great job at highlighting all the GOOD stuff that the Rock Band series has that Activision just hasn’t discovered yet.

So basically this is a blog written by a big fan of music games, who would like to have more fun with such games, and who hopes someday someone from Harmonix (and hopefully Activision too!) will read what’s written here and make their games even more fun. Actually, since Harmonix is working on RB3 as we speak, I hope my ideas will be of some use for them.

Once I get some posts done, I’ll try publicizing this space in forums and maybe other blogs, so I’d like to welcome visitors willing to comment with criticism and ideas.

And now let’s get this show on the road!

Leave a Reply

